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NOTICE OF FINAL ACTION

Subject: This is the Final Action on the Notice of Proposed Changes posted
as ACLL 16-01 on March 1, 2016, at:
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/Ilfs/Documents/ACLL%2016-

01.pdf.

Date of Adoption: The Final Action was effective April 21, 2016.

This All Clinical Laboratories Letter (ACLL) informs clinical laboratories of the
requirements they must meet to be deemed in compliance with California clinical
laboratory law by private, nonprofit accrediting organizations approved by the California
Department of Public Health (CDPH).

You may contact Laboratory Field Services (LFS) about this ACLL at
LESaccorg@cdph.ca.gov. Please refer to ACLL 16-01 in the subject line.

Section 1223 of the California Business and Professions Code (BPC) requires the
Department to approve accrediting organizations to inspect laboratories for the purpose
of deeming them in compliance with California clinical laboratory law. Laboratories
licensed by the Department have the option to choose licensure or registration by the
Department or certification of deemed status by an accrediting organization approved
by the Department. All laboratories seeking California licensure must apply to LFS.
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Laboratories choosing deemed status must meet the requirements listed below.

a. General Requirements

1. A laboratory may choose deemed status only once a year, as an initial
applicant or at the time of anrnual renewal of its licensure, provided that the
laboratory’s California license or registration, deemed status, or CLIA
certificate is in condition-level compliance with California and CLIA and-State
requirements.

2. The Department may conduct validation surveys of laboratories with deemed
status.

3. The Department retains authority to investigate complaints against a
laboratory with deemed status.

2. If the Department determines during a validation survey or complaint
investigation that the survey standards of an accrediting organization do not
meet the requirements of California law, the Department will notify affected
licensees-with

process:
B. an-explanation-concerning-therisk-to-consumers.

laboratories deemed by the organization.

4. If the Department withdraws approval of an accrediting organization, a
laboratory deemed by the organization will have 45 days from the date of
notification to choose deemed status by another approved accrediting
organization approved by the Department or revert to state licensure by the
Department.

5. A deemed status laboratory must submit changes (change of ownership,
change of director, change of address) to both the accrediting organization
and the Department within 30 days.

b. Approval Requirements

A laboratory must meet the following requirements to be approved for a

certificate of deemed status:

1. Meet the accreditation standards of the accrediting organization, which must
be approved by the federal Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services
(CMS) and the Department.

2. Authorize the accrediting organization to provide any records or other
information to the Department, including complaint and inspection reports.

3. Pay the applicable fees.
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Authorize its proficiency testing organization to furnish to the Department and
the accrediting organization the results of the laboratory’s participation in a
proficiency testing program approved by CMS, along with explanatory
information needed to interpret the proficiency testing results, upon request of
the Department or the accrediting organization.

Authorize the accrediting organization to release to the Department a

notification of every violation of condition-level requirements, including the

actions taken by the accrediting organization as a result of the violation.

Authorize the accrediting organization to give notice to the Department of any

withdrawal or termination of the laboratory’s accreditation. If the accrediting

organization withdraws or revokes a laboratory’s accreditation:

A. The laboratory will retain its certificate of deemed status for 45 days after it
receives notice of revocation of accreditation or the effective date of any
action taken by the Department, whichever is earlier.

B. The laboratory will revert to state licensure by the Department and must
apply to LFS for licensure application. The application process shall be
followed as outlined in regulations and statutes.

Notify the Department of any change in deemed status within 30 days.

Changes include withdrawal, revocation, termination, or any action taken by

the accrediting organization against the laboratory’s deemed status.

Authorize the accrediting organization to release documents to the

Department pursuant to an investigation or complaint.

Renew certification of deemed status issued by the Department annually.

c. Application Process

1.

To apply for a certificate of deemed status a laboratory must:
A. Have a current, valid CLIA certificate.

B. Submit a completed Department application to LFS. If a laboratory’s
license is in the process of revocation or has been revoked, the
laboratory may not apply for a certificate of deemed status.

C. Enroll with an approved accrediting organization.

D. Submit to the accrediting organization a written request to be
considered for deemed status and meet the requirements of the
accrediting organization for deemed status.
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F. Pay the application or renewal fee required by the Department.

2. A laboratory currently accredited by an approved accrediting organization can
apply for a certificate of deemed status at their next license renewal period.
The laboratory must:

A. Provide the Department with a copy of the laboratory’s current
certificate of accreditation.

B. Provide the Department with a copy of the most recent decisions and
findings of the accrediting organization based on an on-site survey
performed within the 24-month period preceding the request for
deemed status.

C. Pay the renewal fee required by the Department.

3. A laboratory applying for a certificate of deemed status not yet enrolled with
an approved accrediting organization must

A. Complete the accrediting organization’s application and provide the
Department with documented evidence that the laboratory has applied
to the accrediting organizations in the form of an acknowledgment from
the accrediting organization that the laboratory has applied.

B. Once it has been accepted by the accrediting organization for deemed
status, the laboratory must submit to the Department:

i. A written request to be considered for deemed status.

ii.  Documentation of acceptance by an approved accrediting
organization, including the unique 1D number assigned by the
accrediting organization.

ii. A copy of the decisions and findings of the accrediting organization
based on an on-site survey.

iv. Pay the application or renewal fee required by the Department.
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Please note: LFS does not maintain laboratory documents of produced by accrediting
organizations. As a private entity, an accrediting organization is not subject to the
California Public Records Act (PRA), and its application and inspection reports are not
subject to PRA disclosures. Any requests for the documents of an accrediting
organization must be sent directly to the accrediting organization.

The provisions of this ACLL do not modify or otherwise affect existing law and do not
modify the Department’s authority to enforce its laws.



